Philippians 1:17-18 (HCSB)

the others proclaim Christ out of rivalry, not sincerely, seeking to cause me anxiety in my imprisonment. What does it matter? Just that in every way, whether out of false motives or true, Christ is proclaimed. And in this I rejoice. Yes, and I will rejoice

     I’m always amazed at this passage.  Paul fully understands that some people were preaching Christ so as to add difficulty to him in his imprisonment.  He doesn’t care, because Christ is being preached.  Christ’s name being proclaimed was everything to Paul, even when the motives of the proclaimer were not pure.
     I’m not sure what this means for us.  When Christ is proclaimed but the desire is for personal power or glory, are we to mind, or maybe at least point this out?  Do we condemn an Elmer Gantry type who is preaching only for profit? Hmm…
