“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”
(2 Timothy 4:7 HCSB)

We, along with Paul, are all going to die someday [unless we happen to be the generation that is alive when Christ returns].  We could have no better epitaph on our tombstones than the one that Paul writes to Timothy as he stares down the barrel of execution.  I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.  All three verbs are in the perfect tense which in the Greek is used when something was true in the past, is true now, and will be true in the future.

Living this Christian life is a fight, a battle, will you fight it well?  The course of our Christian lives is a race, will you run to win?  We have faith that Christ died for our sins according to the gospel, that he rose on the third day, that he ascended into heaven, that he will certainly return for his beloved church, will you keep the faith?

May your tombstone [and mine] be literally and/or figuratively: I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

“There is reserved for me in the future the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give me on that day, and not only to me, but to all those who have loved His appearing.”
(2 Timothy 4:8 HCSB)

