“For I was hungry and you gave Me something to eat; I was thirsty and you gave Me something to drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you took care of Me; I was in prison and you visited Me.’”
(Matthew 25:35–36 HCSB)

Jesus comes to us who follow him today in the form of:

  • the thirsty
  • the hungry
  • the stranger
  • the naked
  • the sick
  • those in prison

Everything hinges upon our seeing these people as Jesus in disguise.  When we serve them, we are serving Jesus.  When we ignore them, we are ignoring Jesus.

Those who ignore Jesus in the distressing disguise of the hungry, thirsty, stranger, naked, sick, and in prison will not enter into Jesus’ kingdom.

Frightening words.

Give us eyes to see, O Lord, Jesus in disguise.

