But it is not just creation alone which groans; we who have the Spirit as the first of God’s gifts also groan within ourselves, as we wait for God to make us his children and set our whole being free.” (Romans 8:23, GNB)

The older that I get, the more I understand this verse.  I believe this is true because it seems to be the case that the older I get, the better I understand the wickedness that sits there waiting to raise its ugly head; I understand the weakness of my flesh (human nature); I understand that I am, as the hymn writer put it, “prone to wander Lord, I feel it, prone to leave the God I love” (explain THAT will you, makes so little sense, but nonetheless true).

All of this garbage makes me groan within myself as I wait for God to set my whole being free.  Yes!  I really cannot wait for that.

