You gave my father strength to beget me; you made me grow in my mother’s womb. You formed my body with bones and sinews and covered the bones with muscles and skin.” (Job 10:10–11, GNB)

Job and whoever was the author of the book of Job, along with all of the writers of the scriptures, not to mention most of the characters in scripture, believed that God was the prime mover in the creation of all human beings.  “You made me grow in my mother’s womb.  You formed my body with bones and sinews and covered the bones with muscles and skin.”

This reads much like David’s strikingly beautiful description in Psalm 139:

For it was You who created my inward parts; You knit me together in my mother’s womb. I will praise You because I have been remarkably and wonderfully made. Your works are wonderful, and I know this very well.” (Psalm 139:13–14, HCSB)

This is not a description of evolution by natural selection, it is a description of a sovereign and powerful God who created all things, who gave life to everything that has breath, and who creates with care and concern and precision and beauty.

This for some reason reminds me of an anecdote from the Civil War recounted in Douglas Freeman’s biography of Robert E. Lee.  He writes:

But perhaps the best tribute to him was paid one night when some of the infantry were discussing the Origin of Species, which had then been published less than four years. Darwinism had its warm advocates, but one soldier refused to accept the arguments. “Well, boys,” he said, “the rest of us may have developed from monkeys; but I tell you none less than God could have made such a man as ‘Marse Robert.’ ”

Here in Job we are all Marse Roberts.

