“Listen to me, descendants of Jacob, all who are left of my people. I have cared for you from the time you were born. I am your God and will take care of you until you are old and your hair is grey. I made you and will care for you; I will give you help and rescue you.” (Isaiah 46:3–4, GNB)

God had taken care of his people “from the time you were born.”  He promises to take care of them “until you are old and your hair is grey.”  God summarizes this way:  “I made you and I will care for you.”  This is a promise and God is true to his promises.

It was because of God’s promises that William Borden gave up wealth and acclaim and headed out as a missionary to China.  He died before he reached China, but not before penning these words in his Bible: “No reserve, no retreat, no regrets.”

We don’t need a “nest egg” to retire, we need to trust God in all things and trust this promise.

