Death herds them like sheep straight to hell; they disappear down the gullet of the grave; They waste away to nothing— nothing left but a marker in a cemetery. But me? God snatches me from the clutch of death, he reaches down and grabs me.” (Psalm 49:14–15, The Message)

Even though The Message is a paraphrase, it is so vivid here that I like to think of these verses the way The Message frames them.  This psalm is all about those who think that they are immune to death and destruction because of wealth and honor in this life.  None of that stuff lasts and sooner or later every one of us will face the grave.

You can face the grave and have death herd you straight to hell; you can disappear into the gullet of the grave, but you do not have to do so.  Instead you can be ransomed and received:

But God will ransom my soul from the power of Sheol, for he will receive me. Selah” (Psalm 49:15, ESV)

Myself?  I will take God’s work to ransom my soul from the power of the grave and to receive me into his kingdom through the sacrifice of his Son for my sins.

But hey, you’re not me, right?

