Write down for the coming generation what the Lord has done, so that people not yet born will praise him.” (Psalm 102:18, GNB)

Rosario Butterfield, who was a radical, lesbian, feminist professor of English before coming to faith in Christ captures the truth of this verse in a beautiful essay written for the Gospel Coalition.  She writes about her background and how she believed that Planned Parenthood was all about family values, indeed she believed this even after she came to faith.

Until one day…

She writes:

“And then I met Jesus Christ.

But when I was first converted, I did not understand why abortion was a sin.

I remember asking the women in church why Christians condemned abortion and celebrated capital punishment. I never heard a compelling argument.

And then, one day during worship, we sang Psalm 102 and it hit me between the eyes. Here was the line of my undoing: “And peoples yet uncreated shall praise and magnify the LORD” (Ps. 102:18). I got it: abortion is not a right or an entitlement. Abortion steals praise from God by denying image-bearers the opportunity to live through and for him. Abortion despises and attacks and destroys the image of God.

Yes, children must be protected from abuse, but abortion does not accomplish this.”

