But I will watch for the Lord; I will wait confidently for God, who will save me. My God will hear me.” (Micah 7:7, GNB)

Micah includes this sparkling, vibrant statement of faith in God at the end of a dirge setting forth Israel’s misery.  Her difficult plight is self-induced because hyperbolically “the godly has perished from the earth and there is no one upright among mankind.”

In the midst of this situation, which Micah cannot escape and into which he is sucked unwillingly, for he is still faithful to the Lord, Micah proclaims that God “will save me.  My God will hear me.”

God is not asleep at the wheel when we find ourselves in difficulty or in a cultural situation in which those who are devoted to God are oppressed and persecuted.  He is not absent from North Korea at this moment, nor is he missing from the streets of Damascus and the ravaged villages of Syria as Christians are murdered because they are Christians.  For his own wise purposes, he allows evil to run amok in certain places, at certain times, but only within his prescribed limits.  Why?  I do not know.  I am not God.

The day will come when we will experience persecution and difficulty here in America.  We are headed that way rapidly even now.  These words of Micah will become most precious to us then.

