“In him the Gentiles will put their hope.” – Matt 12.21 (CJB)

Matthew quotes Isaiah 42.1-4 here, pointing out that the prophet Isaiah exactly prophesied the character of Christ.

I like the last verse for obvious reasons, I am a Gentile and, thanks to the sacrificial death and subsequent resurrection of Jesus, every Gentile has hope in a world that has little space for hope otherwise.

I have hope that the life I live will not be lived in vanity and emptiness, that life is not, as Shakespeare claimed, “a tale told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.”

I have hope of eternal life to come beyond the grave.  That in a true sense, this life is not “real” life, real life is still to come.

I have hope that I will be in heaven in continuous fellowship with my King and Savior, Jesus Christ.

I have hope that God will finish all things and end history at the second coming of Christ.

I have hope of the Holy Spirit’s help to live this life in a way that pleases God.

I have hope that every Gentile who puts his faith and trust in Jesus will be a new creation in Christ.

