I have set the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.” (Psalm 16:8, ESV)

In David’s life–as in the lives of all followers of God–the presence of the Lord is decisive.  David will not be shaken, not because of his own efforts or power or ability, but because the Lord is present.

Notice also that there is nothing like “present and…”, as if to say that God must be present, but then something else in addition to his presence is also required.  His presence is enough; his presence is sufficient; his presence is safety and security. It’s ironic that this same word is used to refer to what the wicked thinks is true:

He says in his heart, “I shall not be moved; throughout all generations I shall not meet adversity.”” (Psalm 10:6, ESV)

The wicked thinks that they will not be shaken, but in reality it is those who are in the presence of the Lord who will not be shaken.

Peter attributes this passage to our Lord Jesus in his great sermon on Pentecost in Acts 2:25.

Here’s the amazing thing.  The same promise that is rightly attributed to our Lord Jesus is also available to us as children of a mighty God.  He was at Jesus right hand at all times (except for the most excruciating moment in history:”My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?”); he will be at our side at all times, in all conditions, for as long as we live and even beyond death.

