Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.” (Psalm 73:25, ESV)

The psalmist in a succinct manner summarizes the truth that there is nothing in heaven or in earth that surpasses–or even comes close for that matter–to the excellencies of God the Father.  In all of heaven, God is the only thing worthy of our praise, glory, and honor.  When the earth with all its vast resources is studied carefully, all other things fail in comparison to a relationship with God.  There is truly nothing that we can desire that comes close to God the Father.  Paul will put the New Testament version of this verse in this manner:

But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ” (Philippians 3:7–8, ESV)

Everything else is rubbish and trash compared to the value of gaining Christ, of “knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.”

