Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life; you stretch out your hand against the wrath of my enemies, and your right hand delivers me.” (Psalm 138:7, ESV)

If there is one thing that we can be sure of as followers of Jesus, it is that we will walk in the middle of trouble, sooner rather than later.  Friendship with the world is enmity with God and therefore friendship with God is enmity with the world.  This enmity is going to flair up and cause problems and the Scriptures never shrink from proclaiming that truth:

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”” (John 16:33, ESV)

John 16.33 is the NT version of Ps 138.7.  Jesus has overcome the world in the same way that God protects me from my enemies and God delivers me with his right hand.

Indeed, the OT speaks to this issue again and again and the unified voice with which it speaks is that if there is one thing a follower of God can be sure, it is that God is and will protect him:

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; Thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: Thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: And I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.” (Psalm 23:4–6, KJV 1900)

