“You will feel all the force of my anger and rage until I am satisfied. When all this happens, you will be convinced that I, the Lord, have spoken to you because I am outraged at your unfaithfulness.” (Ezekiel 5:13, GNB)

While the Good News Bible departs somewhat from a close literal translation of this verse, it does benefit from being understandable.  The HCSB gives a more literal translation:

When My anger is spent and I have vented My wrath on them, I will be appeased. Then after I have spent My wrath on them, they will know that I, Yahweh, have spoken in My jealousy.” (Ezekiel 5:13, HCSB)

While the word “unfaithfulness” is not in the Hebrew, the concept certainly is, so I wouldn’t argue with the GNB translation of the verse. The Lord has “spoken in his jealousy” [which we can think of as “fighting to keep the devotion of his people alive”], he has spoken because of their unfaithfulness to him.

It is in this case that the wrath of God is a good thing, this is anger that has as its goal drawing the people back to God and that aim is the best thing that can happen to them. These are wounds of mercy.

If God’s anger falls down upon you, dear reader, count it all joy for it is surely meant to keep you faithful to him.

