I am the Lord. I have spoken; it shall come to pass; I will do it. I will not go back; I will not spare; I will not relent; according to your ways and your deeds you will be judged, declares the Lord God.”” (Ezekiel 24:14, ESV)

The declaration of the Lord to his people who had forsaken him for idols.  It is direct and forceful and grim.  Perhaps if we list the statements in bullet form, the gravity of this verse will be clearer:

  • I am the Lord
  • I have spoken
  • It shall come to pass
  • I will do it
  • I will not go back
  • I will not spare
  • I will not relent
  • You will be judged

So prophesied.  So done.

The Bible Knowledge Commentary reads: “God had tried to cleanse His people from their impurities but they resisted all such efforts. Therefore they would experience the purifying work of God’s wrath. God’s patience had run out; the time had come for Him to judge. He would not hold back or have pity. God’s mercy prompts Him to withhold judgment as long as possible to enable people to repent (cf. 2 Peter 3:8–10), but He does not wait indefinitely. A time comes when God punishes wickedness.”

God is longsuffering with sin and with sinners, that is his nature; however, we would be foolish to think that God will endure sin forever.  He will not.  Lest we think that God is somehow different in the New Testament, the writer to Hebrews disabuses us of that notion:

For we know him who said, “Vengeance is mine; I will repay.” And again, “The Lord will judge his people.” It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.” (Hebrews 10:30–31, ESV)

Yes.  Yes it is.

