Serve the Lord with gladness; Come before Him with joyful singing.” (Psalm 100:2, NASB95)

The psalmist here calls for us to serve the Lord with gladness. This implies that serving the Lord is something to be glad about, that it is not a forced gladness–as if we would prefer not to, but in light of the fact that God might squish us like bugs, it might perhaps be a good idea–but a gladness that comes as a result of who God is.  There is something in God’s character, reacting with our service that make us serve him with gladness.

It’s this very truth to which John Piper has dedicated his life.  Again and again he has told fellow believers that “God is most glorified in us, when we are most satisfied in him.”

The Scriptures are filled with reasons to be glad in the Lord.  What is Ps. 23 if not an extended demonstration of gladness in our God:

The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need. He lets me rest in green meadows; he leads me beside peaceful streams. He renews my strength. He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to his name. Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me. You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies. You honor me by anointing my head with oil. My cup overflows with blessings. Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.” (Psalm 23:1–6, NLT)

When you go forth today, dear reader, go forth with gladness in serving Our Great God.  He is all the satisfaction you need.

