Only may Yahweh give to you understanding and insight that he might give you charge over Israel and the keeping of the law of Yahweh your God. Then you will prosper if you take care to do the statutes and judgments which Yahweh commanded Moses concerning Israel. Be strong and be courageous; fear not and do not be dismayed.” (1 Chronicles 22:12–13, LEB)

David’s instructions to his son, Solomon, who would succeed him as king of Israel [too bad he only listened for awhile and then forgot…]

What strikes me here is David’s emphasis on action:  Keep the law of Yahweh your God; Do the statutes and judgments which Yahweh commanded. To succeed at this gig of leading the people as a king who follows God, David instructs his son, you need to keep and do, keep and do.

It seems to me that the New Testament equivalent of this instruction from David is the book of James in which James puts so much emphasis on doing:

But someone may well say, “You have faith and I have works; show me your faith without the works, and I will show you my faith by my works.”” (James 2:18, NASB95)

Solomon would show is devotion to God by keeping and doing, we demonstrate our faith in God and love for Jesus in exactly the same way.

Keep and do, dear reader, keep and do.

