Are not two sparrows for a farthing sold? And one from among them shall not fall upon the ground、 without your Father; But even the hairs of your head have all been numbered.” (Matthew 10:29–30, EMPH)

We have here the briefest glimpse into the intimate knowledge of God our Father and the extent of its detail.  It is barely conceivable that Jesus can say that the hairs of our head have all been numbered because if we begin to think of what that means we discover a little bit what the omniscience of God must be like.  It is easy to say that God knows all things, but when we see the curtain pulled aside just a little bit, what this means is mind-boggling.

If he knows the number of hairs on the heads of the disciples, then one assumes that he knows the number of hairs on every human being, which today amounts to 8 billion, give or take.  If He knows every sparrow that falls to the ground, then he knows every deer that falls to the ground and every fish that dies, and every mosquito that meets its demise.

What does this mean for me, the individual?  We aren’t left to wonder, because David–in the Holy Spirit–has told us:

O Lord, you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.” (Psalm 139:1–4, ESV)

The God who knows the number of the hairs on my head, knows my thoughts, my words, my path, and everything else there is to know about me.

